Whenever I set out to live in Spain, moreover in Spain, I must have been mad. Now I know that things lie a bit differently. Now it is me who sees we are drifting into the arena of the unwell. So I must keep calm and put on the brake and turn around 180 degrees and maybe face Germany again. I do not know if I can face up to that either. But fact is that Spain, especially Ibiza, is not an easy peasy place to live, it is not the place where you can be without any proper financial background. In Ibiza, you spend money, you see money being spent, you get cheated and lose money, but as somebody who does not have so much money and need to earn your wages to pay your rent and food each month, you don’t earn money, you earn shit and you practically live a life between hope and despair and maybe if you wait around long enough, you starve. You just are there and maybe if you are lucky you find some job on the minimum wages. Of course, the prices are ridiculously high, why shouldn’t they be? Ibiza is hip after all. So at the end of the day, you really need to have a job somewhere else too to make ends meet. In effect, you work, you work and you work. What you lose is the reason why you came here in the first place: The feeling of freedom, the ravishing nature which is there to be enjoyed, the wonderful hidden beauties of this island – well, who can enjoy it ? The richy riches of course – And so, Ibiza is an island that caters for the glamour touch and the people who have a lot and who earn more and more each year… As a normal every day Joe, either you are working non-stop, so you have no time for any kind of freetime enjoyment anyway or you have no money to even get outside and enjoy yourself.

To me, it is crystalclear that the only answer is get away to another place while you still can, and maybe back to Germany. I am so fed up with it. I cannot be expected to live the life of a bum. I feel so out of love with Ibiza and also out of luck really.

Where are all the wonderful people who we met on our holidays, nice people, sweet people, people that make Ibiza so wonderful. I see them on the very rare occasions.

The only chance would be to earn extra money on the internet but nothing which is remotely connected to Ibiza. It must be something else. Like ghost writing, translating, or blogging even if you can find some.

What do they always say: Never change a winning team.

So what do you do when you see your team has lost one too many times?

Of course, you pack up and you go home. That is what I am going to do. I won’t spend too much time now hanging around…

