It may be a fun title but what I experienced today was nothing I would wish to happen to anyone.
To cut a long story pretty short. Public health service in Spain sucks big time.
I woke up with a lot of pain today after having pulled a muscle (so I thought). It was really quite painful. So I tried to do virtually everythingvto get rid of it. I tried a couple of home remedies. At no avail. But as the day went on and on I noticed that the pain wasn’t really getting better but worse. So I went to the public hospital from the Spanish seguridad social. Ok. I would not have thought that I would wait almost three hours. And I was one of so many people waiting to be attended, treated and admissed that it was a clear message: don’t be ill and don’t be dependent on public health in Spain. It is rubbish. There is no way this system works.

All the cutbacks in medicine show a disastrous effect. Too many patients, too few doctors, too chaotic administration,  too little flexibility.

When after three hours waiting I told the receptionist I was in pain I was finally treated and I felt bad… cos there still were so many around like me. But I was really totally beaten. I was basically ready to take anything. About anything.   Just to make the pain go away.

Don’t get me wrong. The people try to help you. The thing is – they do try to help you but often it does not seem to be the best practice which is used. Why would you x-ray someone like me? I hadn’t fallen. The methods are kind of oldfashioned and often you ask yourself why you need to answer the same questions over and over again. Plus they do things for diagnostic purposes and later don’t evaluate the facts… which struck me as super inefficient. Plus when I asked for the x-ray I couldn’t have it. Not as an email, not the print nor the xray itself. This was unreal.

With the pain having worn me down a little I just wanted to be out of there asap. So I shut up, nodded, grabbed the small plastic bag after the short and again painful physical exam I was given, and basically left without as much as looking on the label.

At home I saw and read the label for the first time. It read “kit no. 6 – colico nefretico”. That must have been a mistake. There was a small read-me folded paper as for the suposed condition I was suffering from.

Needless to say that now I feel reluctant to take this medicine since it seems almost like a fastfood choice. I really felt so mentally wasted after coming home thatvi decided to write an account of how this day was for me and what struck me most about the public healthcare system.

I decided to make an effort to do everything I can to not fall ill. It does not seem to be such a good idea at all.

image

image

image

image

image

